Andaman and Nicobar Coastal Zone Management Authority (ANCZMA) reconstituted

Port Blair, Oct 09: Andaman and Nicobar Coastal Zone Management Authority (ANCZMA) has been reconstituted vide the MoEF Notification No.S.O. 5097/E dated 03rd October 2018 with the Chief Secretary as Chairman of the Committee. The Committee consists of Pr.Secretary (E&F), Pr.Secretary(Rev) as member and PCCF(CRZ & FC) as Member Secretary. Non-officials members comprises of Prof. Ramachandram, Former VC, Anna University, Chennai, Director, IOM, Anna University, Chennai and Head , ANET, Port Blair
As per the Island Protection Zone (IPZ) Notification of 2011 of MoEF, GoI all the islands shall have to prepare Island Coastal Regulation Zone (ICRZ)/ Integrated Island Development Plans (IIMP) Plans for development zoning of the islands. (ICRZs) and (IIMPs) for the islands have been pending for last 7 years for the want of proper monitoring. Non formulation of ICRZ/IIMP plans have been a major road block for development in the islands till now. As this Committee has come into existence the process shall be completed in a time bound manner.
The Committee shall be supervising and approving the ICRZ maps of 10 islands and IIMPs of 27 Islands of the UT for submission to National Coastal Zone Management Authority. (NCZMA)
The Administration had already been working towards finalizing the plans in anticipation of the formation of the Committee. 4 ICRZ plans of Havelock, Neil, Long Island & Little Andaman and 4 IIMPs of Aves, Smith, Flat Bay & Little Andaman have already been prepared in consultation with National Center of Sustainable Coastal Management (NCSCM). The plans shall be taken up this week itself for approval by ANCZMA.
Similarly, for the Baratang & South Andaman Islands the ICRZ plans shall be completed by 15th October 2018 and shall be approved by ANCZMA this month itself. Constitution of ANCZMA shall pave way for sustainable developments in the islands.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *