BRAIT team wins Smart India Hackathon, 2018 defeating 43 reputed teams


Port Blair, Apr 02: Smart India Hackathon is a prestigious annual event conducted by AICTE, MHRD every year where premier technical institutes like IIT, NIT, IIIT and state renowned technical institutes participate by sending a team for the competition. The competition involves identification of problems which are posed to technology students for innovative solutions. The competitions are held in specific nodal centres all over India and registered teams from various institutes are given 36 hours non-stop to come out with a solution. Several rounds of assessments are carried out to adjudge the best.
The UT of Andaman & Nicobar was represented by six member team titled ‘RescueTech’ from Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Institute of Technology consisting of Pawan S. Nair, Amit Roy, K.Vinay Raj of B.Tech CSE III year, C. Raj Kumar of Diploma DCE III year, Dinesh Lal of Diploma DCE II year and Arvind of Diploma Electrical III year. Mr. Hemant Rao, Technical Staff of Computer Science Department accompanied the above team to Sri Krishna College of Engineering, Coimbatore to participate in grand finale of Hackathon, 2018. There were 43 teams representing reputed institutes like IIT Roorkie, NIT Raipur, Assam Engg. College, Chennai Institute of Technology, Jeppiaar Engg. College etc as competitors along with the team BRAIT.
The competition started on 30th March, 2018 at 9.00am and continued non-stop till 31st March, 2018 till 10.00 pm. The problem taken up the team was “Mobile App for Shelter & Resource Management during Disaster” with the feature of totally operational in Offline mode during disaster. The Key features includes SOS, integration of Online & Offline Google maps with muster station indications. The teams were subjected to 36 hours non-stop digital solution development session interspersed with judgment through 4 rounds. Out of 43 teams competing from the Coimbatore nodal centre, the BRAIT team ‘RescueTech’ emerged as the Winner of SIH 2018 taking the pride of UT of A & N Islands to newer heights.
Earlier Hon’ble Prime Minister addressed the participant teams through video conferencing on 30th March 2018 and stressed that research, innovation and creativity are very essential for governance. AICTE, Chairman Mr. Anil Sahasrabudhe congratulated the Andaman Team through a whatsapp message. The Winner Team is given cash prize of Rs. 100,000/- by the Ministry of Environment, forest and Climate Change.
The team was given a warm reception at Veer Savarkar International Airport, Port Blair by Principal, Faculty members and students of the Institute.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *